my puppeteer.

Everything went black.

I need more air, more time, more space.

Gasping for air is never more painful than in the heat of a panic attack.

Hyperventilating all of my fears away; it engulfs me, body and soul.

Dad holds me close trying to drown out the shakes.

“Breathe.”

Sure, I would breathe-

I would breathe, but my lungs are torn in two;

Struck with shock and rage.

The surrounding premises blurs out,

Hearing fades out into the abyss of nothingness.

Tremors escalate to a petrifying climax,

Just as the cold sweats join the party- uninvited.

Breathe. Breathe. Breathe, God dammit.

Dad, where is the air?

Like a rag doll,

My limbs quiver uncontrollably.

Anxiety- my puppeteer.

 

 

 

Author: Lizzy_Noons

current student. aspiring international journalist & musician. nj born and raised, globally bound. stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “my puppeteer.”

  1. Your writing is pretty impressive. I like how you deal with topics that seem to be what most would like to consider taboo in certain ways. It takes a lot of guts to put an expression on these sorts of things/ and to put it out there. I feel like people deal with these problems every day and yet people tend to be afraid to express them or show them because the society we live in would be so judgemental of those aspects of our lives whether it’s anxiety or depression. But it’s good that you can express it, and get it out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment